Wild Inventures
Wild Inventures Podcast
When you can't find the 🔥
64
0:00
-2:00

When you can't find the 🔥

A short creativity hack
64

Good morning, friends.

It’s Saturday after a disappointing Friday. I lost all my creative juice yesterday. It was just gone. We didn’t get our Bewildered episode done for the week. I didn’t get a newsletter drafted.

burning wood
Photo by Maxim Tajer on Unsplash

It’s a weird thing, being a maker. A lot of you know what I’m talking about. Sometimes, even at our worst, it’s possible to go to the office job, clock in and out, while away a few hours answering email. I know because I did this work for MANY years.

But when “showing up” means having the mental alacrity to make quick-fire jokes, respond coherently, and keep the energy alive (as required in the podcast), it’s so much harder. When it means trying to give value to the people who have entrusted me with access to their inbox (that’s you), it’s SO much harder. The ability is just absent.

There’s something that happens to the ego, too, when we lose touch with our creativity. Or is this just me? I was so royally BUMMED yesterday not to be able to find that juju that I started feeling deflated in every part of my life. I doubted myself in ways that had nothing to do with creativity and making.

But you know what? I FOUND THE SOLUTION! I discovered the brilliant hack that cut through my issue, and I’m here to share it with you. Are you ready? Here’s what I did.

I cut myself a fucking break.

I poured a glass of wine and made a creamy mushroom steak sauce. I called my mom. I cuddled up with my beloveds and watched The Sopranos. Then I went to bed with my audiobook thriller and fell asleep to it.

When I introduced this column, I told you it wasn’t self-help. But not self-cutting-yourself-a-fucking-break? I didn’t promise that.


Where are you struggling to find your creativity right now in your life? Where do you need to cut yourself a break? Are they by any chance the same area? Tell all below! 👇

64 Comments
Wild Inventures
Wild Inventures Podcast
Musings from the edge: parenting, podcasting, hybrid living, and trying to figure it out. With a healthy dose of humor.